Laws against Holocaust denial | WHAT REALLY HAPPENED

Laws against Holocaust denial

Holocaust denial, the denial of the systematic genocidal killing of approximately six million Jews in Europe by Nazi Germany in the 1930s and 1940s, is illegal in 16 European countries and Israel. Many countries also have broader laws that criminalize genocide denial. Of the countries that ban Holocaust denial, some, such as Austria, Germany, Hungary, and Romania, were among the perpetrators of the Holocaust, and many of these also ban other elements associated with Nazism, such as the expression of Nazi symbols.

Laws against Holocaust denial have been proposed in many nations (in addition to those nations that have criminalized such acts) including the United States and the United Kingdom. Such proposals for laws have received criticism and faced opposition, most significantly, from civil rights and human rights advocates who contend that the such laws would violate people's established rights of freedom of speech and freedom of expression. Organizations representing Jews and other groups victimized during the Holocaust have generally been split, in opinion, about such laws.